Great Lakes Lacquer – October LEs + The Friend Collection Part II!

Hi guys! Today I’ve got some swatches of the super gorgeous Part II to The Friend Collection from Great Lakes Lacquer(plus the October LEs, woo!).

 

Up first is The Evil Enabler, a deep purple jelly with orange holo flake, orange microglitter, and golden orange metallic glitter. This is such a nice, deep color! No issues with the formula, the photos below are 3 coats + 1 coat Seche Vite.

 

“No one is safe from this lady’s swatches.  Perfect nails, perfect polishing, and gorgeous nail art hardly covers it.  I know I’ve bought many bottles of polish based on her pictures.  Good thing she has awesome taste.  I hear she is a mean mixologist and will ear bug you bad but I haven’t fallen victim to that yet [note from Dani: She is ridiculously good at the mixed CD business, I legit have one from her in my car CD player right now hahahaha].  You can always trust her to give you the truth while considering your feelings.  A true friend with the ability to make you empty your wallet.”


20150913_110107
20150913_110123

 

The Animal Advocate is a burgundy plum wine linear holo with gold shimmer and fuschia multichrome flake. Another stunner! I like the multichrome flake, it gives this polish a little something extra. No formula issues, photos below are 2 coats + 1 coat Seche Vite.

A woman with a heart of gold and the mind of a 12-year-old boy, this lady is quick with the sass and can make a sailor blush.  Still, she is a great friend who is always there with a helping hand, especially for those who can’t speak for themselves.  She does amazing things for animals in need, even fostering for those who would be forgotten otherwise.  Her huge heart and voracious vocabulary are a huge inspiration to me.”

20150913_105000
20150913_105015

 

The Enigmatic Soul is a cobalt blue jelly with amethyst and copper shimmer and tiny micro emerald glitter. I added just a tiny drop of thinner to this one, just a personal preference. It wasn’t super thick on its own or anything, I just wanted it to be a smidge thinner. It is such a pretty blue! I love blue and copper together, they make such a lovely color combination, and the addition of amethyst and emerald in the mix makes for a great polish! The photos below are 3 coats + 1 coat Seche Vite.

“There is more to this one than there seems, at first.  At the surface, there is quiet but underneath the depths are limitless and rolling, almost like a river.  You would never know that she has all the amazing talents that she does if you don’t take the time to get to know her.  From making nail polish to architecture to the culture she cherishes, the multifaceted side of this lady never ends.”

20150913_111743
20150913_111800

 

The Polish Fairy Godmother is definitely the most unique color I have seen in a loooooong time! It is an orangey rusty red with a crazy blue sheen, this polish looks pink, peach, and beige sometimes depending on your lighting. I have genuinely never seen anything like it, and upon first hearing the color description, I was unsure how it could possibly work, but oh man it is SO GORGEOUS. You can stare at it all day and never decide exactly what color it is. No formula issues, photos below show 2 coats + 1 coat Seche Vite.

“A more apt name could not be found for this one.  When I first met this lady, the first thing she did was send me a bunch of nail polish that I had on my wishlist.  I have gotten to know her since and she is as sweet as the goodies she sends.  She is also tough as nails.  To this day, I know of hundreds of people that she has visited her kindness upon.  You, too, may have her to thank for your keen interest in indie nail polish.”

20150913_120909
20150913_120921

 

The Traveling Linguist is the perfect shimmery brown for fall! It is a warm bronzy brown jelly filled with gold shimmer. No formula issues on this one either, photos below show 3 coats + 1 coat Seche Vite. 

This lady is a world traveler and has the language skills to go with.  She is also a huge nature lover.  Her idea of a vacation is taking you out camping and making you climb things while she’s at it.  I tell you though; the views when you wake up are worth it.  Did I tell you she’d give you the shirt off her back as well?  One thing is for sure, when I cross Patagonia off my bucket list, she’s definitely coming with me.  That way I’ll always have an extra pair of clothes and be able to ask where a bathroom is.”

20150913_103836
20150913_103857

 

Now for the October Limited Edition polishes! These are both inspired by one of Mariah’s favorite TV shows, The Walking Dead! Let’s hope Mariah doesn’t hate me for never making it past season 2 of TWD when I tried to binge watch it all on Netflix, hahahaha. My inability to get into the show aside, these polishes are freaking amazing. Stuff and Thangs might be in my top 5 ever polishes, it’s that gorgeous.

Coral is a purple linear holo filled with pinky coral shimmer and light. The name is a nod to Andrew Lincoln’s extreme southern drawl when he says Carl’s name. No formula issues, the photos below are 2 coats + 1 coat Seche Vite.
20150913_115239
20150913_115246

 

Stuff and Thangs, oh man. This polish. THIS POLISH. It’s a blood red jelly with ‘stuff and thangs’ floating inside. Specifically, orange-gold chrystal chrome flake, red shimmer, and microflake. It’s so squishy and gorgeous and just the perfect red with an oomph. No formula issues, the photos below show 3 coats + 1 coat Seche Vite.
20150913_113839
20150913_113920

 

The Friend Collection Part II + the October LEs will launch Sunday, September 27th at 3PM EST(Noon PST). The polishes will be available on theGreat Lakes Lacquer Etsy Store. Make sure to follow GLL onInstagram and Facebook to keep up with the latest news, sneak peaks, and future releases!

Leave a comment